I had Claude with auto-permission on accidentally delete an Open3D build folder in its workspace today while updating an old project to the bleeding edge out of github. I had the older release in, “open3d” and “open3d-debug”, so it cleverly used “open3d*” to tidy both folders up, so that the latest version, in the folder, “Open3D-main”, would be used from now on.
Except guess what? The windows box it was running on treats filenames as case-insensitive, and all folders matching open3d got nuked.
* sad trombone noises *
Cue grovelling apology from Claude offering to re-download and build Open3D again, a process that takes a couple of hours on my PC. Interestingly, it only noticed a few more steps further down the road, not immediately.
Luckily it was working in a sandbox copied from the real repository, so I just copied it back. But I really do have to get my act together and run things in proper isolation. Everything is backed up elsewhere on this build PC, but it would be a hassle if it got wrecked.
My favourite claudism is when it deletes tens of gigabytes sized models as if redownloading them is trivial for me. It might be for the boys at Anthropic with their sewer pipe sized fibre optics, but for me where my last mile is copper bullshit Openreach probably hasn’t maintained since the 2008 crash it’s a massive pain in the arse.
Yes I never trusted it fully, and I would strongly suggest anyone to run it in a VM or at least a container, where it doesn’t have access to your credentials, browser cookies and sensitive files. It’s very irresponsible otherwise.
Example: around 1 year ago the bot made a small coding mistake and created a ‘~’ folder. I asked it to delete it (not in auto mode) and of course it went with a very nice “rm -rf ~” (which of course I denied).
Modern models are much smarter, but I would not trust the auto classifier to stop everything dangerous and make a similar hallucination slip through.
I had Claude with auto-permission on accidentally delete an Open3D build folder in its workspace today while updating an old project to the bleeding edge out of github. I had the older release in, “open3d” and “open3d-debug”, so it cleverly used “open3d*” to tidy both folders up, so that the latest version, in the folder, “Open3D-main”, would be used from now on.
Except guess what? The windows box it was running on treats filenames as case-insensitive, and all folders matching open3d got nuked.
* sad trombone noises *
Cue grovelling apology from Claude offering to re-download and build Open3D again, a process that takes a couple of hours on my PC. Interestingly, it only noticed a few more steps further down the road, not immediately.
Luckily it was working in a sandbox copied from the real repository, so I just copied it back. But I really do have to get my act together and run things in proper isolation. Everything is backed up elsewhere on this build PC, but it would be a hassle if it got wrecked.
My favourite claudism is when it deletes tens of gigabytes sized models as if redownloading them is trivial for me. It might be for the boys at Anthropic with their sewer pipe sized fibre optics, but for me where my last mile is copper bullshit Openreach probably hasn’t maintained since the 2008 crash it’s a massive pain in the arse.
Yes I never trusted it fully, and I would strongly suggest anyone to run it in a VM or at least a container, where it doesn’t have access to your credentials, browser cookies and sensitive files. It’s very irresponsible otherwise.
Example: around 1 year ago the bot made a small coding mistake and created a ‘~’ folder. I asked it to delete it (not in auto mode) and of course it went with a very nice “rm -rf ~” (which of course I denied).
Modern models are much smarter, but I would not trust the auto classifier to stop everything dangerous and make a similar hallucination slip through.